Important Lesson #1

We stay in a condo here at the beach that has a kitchen.  With three kids under three, eating out isn’t the best way to go.  Instead, we load up on groceries and eat in.  Last night, I marinaded steaks that Mom brought from home.  My marinade kicks some major you-know-what and I could just taste them all.day.long.  Finally, the time came to eat.  I cut into the aromatic steak that left my mouth watering…and ick.  It was the worst cut of meat I have ever had!

Important Lesson #1:

Never buy meat from the back of a truck. 

Explanation:  Several weeks ago, my mom bought a bunch of steaks from a traveling frozen meat salesman in her driveway.  He had her convinced that they were great and would be perfect.  He even  guaranteed the meat by giving us his cell phone number.  Hmph.  The first night we ate them, we really weren’t impressed.  Mom called the guy to complain.  Guess what?  Do you think he answered the phone?  Nope.  Mom isn’t one to waste anything.  So she brought those steaks here to the beach.  So we all could suffer.  I actually thought my kickin’ marinade would help the steaks.  But, as BP stated ever so clearly, “You can’t polish a turd.”

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Missy
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 00:00:15

    I have always wondered about those people who sell meat from a giant cooler along side the road – now I know. 🙂

  2. Jennifer
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 08:39:18

    You can’t polish a turd??!! Ah ha ha ha ha ha! Where have you people been all my life? Ha ha ha! Fantastic!

  3. andrea
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 18:24:21

    I’m glad you said something about the steaks.. because there is this guy that always comes and tries to sell meat out of the back of his truck. I won’t buy it now.. not that I was going too but sometimes I’m a bit tempted! I know what you mean about grocery shopping, that’s what my family always did… oooh and steak marinade sounds amazing..the recipe please? =)

Leave a Reply

