Gettin’ Older

With my birthday looming on the horizon, I have been thinking about aging.  During my first year of teaching, a student innocently asked me a loaded question (side-note…the thought that my first year of teaching was 10 years ago is nauseating):  

 

Student:  Miss R. (insert maiden name here), are you old?

Me:  Not really…why?  Do I have gray hair?

Student:  (studies my head) Well, no.  But you got black coming out!

 

I am assuming I desperately needed to get my roots done.  I admit, I am a chemically dependent blond. 🙂

 

 

Flash-forward several  years:

Frick:  Mama.  You’re old.

Me:  Thanks, Frick.  I appreciate that.

Frick:  But you don’t have a beer on your face.

Me:  No, Frick, I don’t.  Beer is a drink for grown-ups.

Frick:  Noooo Mama!  Daddy’s old and he has a beer on his face.

Me:  Oh!  You mean beard!

 

At least BP was lumped into the “old” category, too.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactivelu
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 00:06:57

    Happy Birthday chickie! Hope you have a great day! We gotta get together for a playdate soon!

  2. Cassie
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 05:40:52

    Happy Birthday!

  3. Cassie
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 17:17:55

    It’s amazing what students notice. I remember when I finally got my roots done after a few months of neglect, and when I went back to school my students told me it was about time! ha.

    But hey, Frick is right, at least you don’t have a beard! haha. Happy Birthday!!

  4. Susan
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 17:55:39

    Happy Birthday!!! I hope that you have a wonderful day!

  5. BP
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 22:53:20

    getting old isn’t bad with a beer in your face.
    Happy Birthday…drink up.

    Big Pappa

  6. Elexis
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 00:29:03

    Haha! Happy Birthday. My 4 year old calls beards “chin mustaches”!

  7. Jenny
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 06:20:28

    I hope you have a great birthday!!

  8. Jennifer
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 08:26:12

    BP’s comment CRACKED ME UP!! Ha ha ha–Happy Birthday! Cheers, dahlin’!

    The other day, Landon asked if he could see my “nickles”….When I asked him what he was talking about, he rolled his eyes and said, “Just take your bra off!”—Umm, yes, I was speechless! His nipple got bit by a dog a while back, so “nickles” have been quite an obsession with him. Out of the mouth of babes!

  9. Busymama Karen
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 13:57:24

    The things kids say – lol. Jennifer your comment about he nickles has me laughing too

Leave a Reply

