Another Baking Disaster

So. I tried that baking thing again. Anyone who knows me outside of cyberspace knows that I am not down with cooking. I do it ’cause I have to, but I do not enjoy it. Strangely enough, when the mammoth sized zucchini appeared on my counter, I started to think of things I could make with it.

Zucchini Bread.

Round One:

Frick, Frack, and I set to the task of using up this vegetable. I let Frick help with the ingredients a little too much. He added 2 TABLESPOONS of baking soda instead of 2 teaspoons. When the bread first came out of the oven, it looked like it imploded. When we tried a bite, we all gagged and wished we would implode. Way too bitter. Into the trash it went since Sophie, the dog, wasn’t interested in it either.

Round Two:

Frick helped for awhile, but quickly scooted off the chair next to the counter when Frack was playing with one of his cherished cars. This time I made sure the ingredients were measured precisely. Can I just say how yummy Zucchini Bread is when you make it correctly???

Here’s your task. I still have a HUGE mamajama of a zucchini left. I promised my mom and friend a loaf of bread, but that will only use up about a third of this monster. What else can I do with it?? Time is running out…it may be good for only a few more days.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan in SC
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 00:51:16

    What beautiful veggies! You must have acquired that green thumb at Clemson! Thank you for your note on my blog. I rec’d my Master’s from Clemson and still live in the area. Also Catholic! What beautiful children you have! Susan

  2. hyperactive lu
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 01:18:25

    I love zucchini bread! Glad it finally turned out good…. you could always made a casserole- like a broccoli casserole. Zucchini casserole is yummy!

  3. Missy
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 03:56:42

    I have an AWESOME recipe for chocolate zucchini cake – it truly is fabulous. Another option – My husband and I also really like zucchini pie as a meal – made with eggs and cheese, baked in a crescent roll crust. If anything else, grate up the zucchini and freeze it – you can always do another loaf of bread another time. We are big zucchini fans over here. 🙂
    If you want a recipe, let me know.

  4. Burgh Baby
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 04:53:45

    Zucchini bread freezes really well, as does the zucchini itself. If you do freeze the zucchini, you’ll need to grate it first, just like you do before you make bread. Yumm . . . zucchini bread (made correctly, of course).

  5. Angie @ Many Little Blessings
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 07:23:10

    I was also going to suggest freezing the zucchini. You could also try zucchini muffins (which would be great frozen and thawed later). Also, I just LOVE frying up some zucchini and yellow squash when I have them in the garden. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

