I have made FOOD!

These zucchini came from our garden today–our second harvest of vegetables. These suckers are HUGE! Maybe they are supposed to get this big, but for a first-time garden guy and girl, we were amazed. The first harvest was of jalepeno and cayenne peppers.

In the immortal words of Chuck Noland in the movie Cast Away:

“Aha. Look what I’ve created. I have made FOOD!”

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nottryingforaboy
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 05:35:21

    Awesome! Harvesting already? We just planted here. How I wish I lived further south some days!

  2. Missy
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 06:48:45

    I was planning on posting some pictures of my veggies I have grown too – also from my very first garden. My zucchini have yet to produce anything yet – I am a bit jealous of yours! wow!
    I have got some great tomatoes growing, strawberries, and yellow peppers – I can’t wait!

  3. hyperactive lu
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 07:38:08

    great job chick!(and dude!)

  4. Angie @ Many Little Blessings
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 08:51:18

    Congrats on growing some of your own food! Isn’t it just amazing? I can’t help but gaze out at our garden all summer and think, “Wow — we’re growing food!”

    I don’t know if you are doing any lettuce this year, but this is my first year doing lettuce and I love it! No…I take that back, our first year gardening, I planted lettuce but it was head lettuce. That didn’t come out well. But, we’re doing leaf lettuce (butter crunch in one pot and romaine in another pot) in pots this year, and it’s producing so well! Oh…and we have strawberries producing right now too. Our zucchini plants are getting bigger, but our planting day was less than a month ago, so they’re not producing yet.

    Keep us updated on your garden this summer! 🙂

  5. bits & pieces
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 07:24:27

    Wow! Good for you. It looks like you did a great job, especially for a first try!

    My first attempt is still sitting in the junk drawer, the seeds still perfectly enclosed in the envelope. Maybe next year!

  6. Andrea
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 22:51:19

    Yummy! OOhh.. I’m jealous I wish we had a big enough yard for a big garden. My mom grows them and they are supposed to be that big, if not bigger. Yum.. let us know how good they taste. I’m salviating (sp).. oooohhh zucchini bread is the best.

Leave a Reply

