Bedtime Prayers

I could not resist posting this! Since this blog serves as a virtual baby book, I felt compelled to write it down.

When I was a little girl, I used to say a prayer at bedtime called, “Angel of God”. It says:

Angel of God, my Guardian Dear
God’s love for me has sent you here.
Ever this day, be at my side,
To light and guard, to rule and guide.
Amen

I have always believed in guardian angels and the thought of having one watch over me especially at bedtime made falling asleep a little easier. Since having children, part of our bedtime routine is to say this prayer, to pass along the same aura of comfort I felt. I was tucking the boys into bed just a little while ago. It was time to say our prayers and Frick said, “It’s time for ‘Staybe'”. Staybe? What in the world?? After saying the prayer out loud with the boys, I realized that Staybe was the sound of the third line all jumbled up together…”Ever this day be at my side”. It’s kinda like LMNOP in the alphabet. People say those letters so fast, they come out as one sound. Frick hooked onto those sounds in the prayer and named it! Man, kids are cool.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactivelu
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 07:13:38

    I too believe in Guardian Angels! Big time! God is so awesome to think of angels! I remember saying my prayers before going to bed, when I was a kid…. I had this fear of fires, I guess. I would always ask that the Lord would keep fires and bad things from our house. I was able to fall asleep about I said my prayers!

  2. Cassie
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 07:45:27

    We say this same prayer! What would we do withou tour Guardian Angels?! What an adorable story. It reminds me of when my oldest was little and he asked me to sing him the “Bayou” song before bed. I had no idea what he was talking about. I tried Blue Bayou, and made up one, but he was inconsolable. I had it all wrong and he couldn’t sleep without the “Bayou” song. It was about a week later when I realized the song he meant goes, “Momma’s gonna buy you a mocking bird!” Ha ha!

  3. We are THAT family
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 19:08:14

    I haven’t heard that prayer-very sweet.

  4. Kate
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 21:23:28

    That is so sweet!

  5. mom
    Apr 16, 2008 @ 08:44:49

    you are so beautiful. wish you all the love and devotion you give so freely to Pops and me. When you “remember” the rituals of your youth, it brings back so many wonderful memories for us, memories that seem just like yesterday. Cherish your babies and the time you have with them. Time flies by so quickly..and you are so very important to them. They hang on every word you say and every song you sing….just like the “Lotion” song I made up for Frick & Frack. I can’t remember the tune 3 hours later and Frick will want me to sing it next week…better get busy with the recall buttons!!! nini

  6. Aunt Dellie
    Sep 13, 2009 @ 00:47:51

    I love the “staybe.” During my younger years at Sacred Heart grade school, when we said the Hail Mary, I thought the words were: Blessed art thou among swimmin…
    I couldn’t figure out what it meant but accepted it on faith.

Leave a Reply

