Layin’ Down the Law

Sunday nights find our family attending Kindermusik classes. Our children have been enrolled in these classes since infancy. There is much research in learning through music, especially starting at an early age. I had to take the boys alone today because BP was working on the rental house. This typically is not a big deal…I take them everywhere with me. Yesterday, though…yesterday was rough.

It all started at Mass. Same situations occurring as in past weeks…boys squirmy, wiggly, etc. Frack got so bad that BP took him out to the car at the Offertory. I really hate that because BP is the one who is learning about the faith. He needs to be in Mass. He wants me to get all I need out of it, so that’s why he handled Frack. Nice guy, huh? Thank goodness my mom was there with us to help. After church, we headed home for lunch and naps. Uneventful afternoon…just inside because of yucky weather again. Off to Kindermusik we go. Fifteen minutes into the class, I dragged my WILD boys out into another room where I scolded and told them if they didn’t stop _______ (fill in the blank), we would leave, go home, eat dinner, take baths with no toys, and go to bed. Guess what happened???? Yep. We left, ate dinner, took baths with no toys, and went to bed at 6:30. I did what I said I would do. I told them I loved them and that’s why I had to discipline. So why do I feel like such a heel?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 21:52:17

    You really DO understand what I’m going through, huh? Glad to have a partner for the ride!

  2. hyperactivelu
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 02:05:22

    That was what our weekend was like too. Bubbie is DEFINITELY testing us! Temper Tantrum was the name of the game this weekend! Hope tonight is better!

  3. Andrea
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 18:45:47

    Hello are you speaking of my weekend? OH MY GOSH! Divine Mercy Sunday and I’m in the back with my son (who I never have to take back anymore) and am seriously ready to scream, shake him or worse beat him (I would NEVER do that). Thank goodness other mothers were back there. Bad day! You did good, you have to stick with your plan.. I need to be better with that.

  4. Kate
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 18:24:22

    Way to stay strong!!

  5. April
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 09:32:00

    Thanks for visiting my blog and adding your wisdom. I’ve been browsing around here. I’m adding you to my Google Reader because I love it! And I’m so jealous of your Roomba…

Leave a Reply

