Change Will Do You Good

BP and I have decided to leave the Methodist church we are currently attending and go to the Catholic church.  A little background….

I am/was a cradle Catholic with 7 years of Catholic schooling.  BP was raised a Baptist.  While we were dating and engaged, we went to Mass on Saturday night or early Sunday morning and then to the Baptist church at 10 or so on Sunday morning.  We were married in a Catholic church so I could make my sacrament of marriage.  It was so very important to us from the beginning to worship TOGETHER as a family.  At the time, I would not consider changing to the Baptist faith and he was not even entertaining the thought of converting to Catholicism.  So, we “shopped” for churches and decided the local Methodist church was a good fit.  It was.  We love this church.  Our son, Frick, attends 3K there.  We are extremely impressed with the religious education Frick is receiving at the preschool.  Knowing that program only goes so far, we recently began researching private Christian schools in the area.  I was really attracted to a particular school (that happens to be a Catholic school) because of their educational programs and the use of technology in each classroom (being a teacher myself helps when looking at schools).  BP agreed, but wanted to research more so he could be ‘prepared’, as he stated, for what in which his children would be exposed.  The more he read, heard, and discussed, the more intrigued he became.  At the end of January, we went and heard FABULOUS speakers, Scott and Kimberly Hahn.  They were incredible, really made sense of every question in our minds, AND backed it up with scripture.  Just what BP has always needed.   The more BP read and studied, the more convinced he became.  Meanwhile, I have been attending Mass with my parents and already went to confess my sin of leaving some years ago.  Today, we joined that local Catholic parish, that houses the school, that piqued our interest.  I am really going to miss the other church and our friends, but I know that this is what God is telling us to do.  We have never been more at peace with any decision we have ever made.
So please pray for us.  Pray for our children as they make this adjustment.  Pray for BP who will be going through RCIA (classes to become Catholic).  We know this is what we need to do for our family.  It was one of the hardest decisions I have ever had to make…with exception of leaving the Catholic church in the first place!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 08:59:44

    My husband and I had the same problem when we first got married. He would go to his church and I would go to mine. After we had Noah we decided to try a different church and both love it. It is a different denomination than I grew up with but I love the praise and worship, and they have a great program for kids.

  2. hyperactivelu
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 18:35:47

    proud of y’all for following your conviction. i know it must be hard. i will definitely keep your whole family in our prayers!

  3. hyperactive lu
    Mar 06, 2008 @ 16:44:43

    Oh goodness No! Don’t worry…. this thing has been going around and I was surprised we hadn’t caught the cold yet. I seriously doubt we got it from y’all. Don’t worry- PLEASE!!!! 🙂 I hope you are having a great week!

  4. Cassie
    Mar 07, 2008 @ 10:15:05

    Hi! Thanks for popping in over on my page! I will definitely be praying for you all on this incredible faith journey. Don’t you just love the Hahn’s? They were instrumental in jump starting my flagging Catholic faith. I have to agree with you on the preschool thing; my kids all attend/attended Methodist Pre-K programs. I think the Methodists do a really wonderful job in that area! Blessings to your family…

Leave a Reply

